Turning Paleo

I come from a pretty active family, who loves homegrown produce and fresh eggs from the coop. However, we almost all have a wicked evil sweet tooth. Like, I will get a craving, buy $20 worth of candy, and finish half of it within 2 days. It’s awful, and I’m not really sure what caused it. I love fruits and vegetables, but I LOVE candy, cake, cookies, ice cream, etc.

Paleo “Rice” from Cauliflower with some roasted chicken and spinach with pomegranate red wine vinegar

I am always trying to find a way to kick the habit. Especially since I lost my dad to a heart attack last year. If you met him, he would talk to you about the importance of eating fruits and vegetables, lean meats, and he was always active. But he was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes when I was in high school because of the daily coffee and sugar, soda, cookies, ice cream, etc. I guess we all had that mentality that meant if we were healthy then sweets were ok in regular consumption. Despite being an avid mountain biker and hiker, his lifestyle caught up with him and we lost him at the young age of 67. What makes this even more sad is that his parents are still going strong at 90. 

Now, on top of having a father who had diabetes… I then get the joy of having a husband get diagnosed with it almost 4 years ago. He was only 32, with type 2 diabetes. He just barely got the wake up call to change his life around. Not after losing my brother in law to a stroke at 41. Not after losing my Dad to a heart attack  last November. No, getting hospitalized just this year in March AFTER everyone is dying around us, did he realize that he has so much in life to experience and be a part of. So getting the scare of a heart attack and realizing that diabetes, obesity, and being a carrier of MRSA… he said let’s do this. How do I get healthy? We cut out regular soda, cut out energy drinks, and cut out alcohol for a while. Yet, nothing was happening. His blood sugar was staying high and he wasn’t feeling any healthier. After hearing so many good things about 2 ways of life. I say way of life because it isn’t a diet when you realize that eliminating things is to benefit our body, not to lose weight. It’s not temporary and it isn’t a fad. I learned that juicing and paleo seemed to have the biggest results in the diabetic community. Now, I know juicing is not part of the paleo lifestyle, but I’m a firm believer in the benefits of a glass of fresh juice to start the day. It detoxes your liver and helps to ensure you are getting vitamins and nutrients from things you may not always like to eat. I find it very refreshing to have a spicy green juice everyday and it wakes me right up. 
The other one was Paleo or Primal. They aren’t the same but basically embody the same principles. Both juicing and Paleo have shown to not only help people lose weight, but to control their blood sugar, and even cure diabetes. That was huge for us. It seemed easy, once we got used to eliminating grains, and anything that could allow my husband to live a long life with me, was a contender.
On April 10, we started the first 30 days and the journey to Paleo living. It wasn’t too bad, but there were definitely moments when we caved to a candy or carb. Not drinking soda proved to be the easiest. My son, who is not overweight, but can put on weight super fast if we don’t monitor what and how much he eats, lost 15 lbs from the change. He complained. A LOT! But when he saw that he could do push ups, run faster, do sit ups, and be satisfied from genuine healthy food, he was happy. My husband felt more energy, lost 12 lbs, started getting his blood sugar under control and was loving the new diet. The biggest problem is the 2 boys above, do not like many vegetables. They are really limited and discovered the shock that corn is, in fact, NOT a vegetable!
My other 4 children and I embraced the change, though I cannot consume as much meat so I stick to eggs and fish. The high fat content kills my gut. Kills it! I already eliminated soy and dairy because of my thyroid. Then gluten as well for the same reason. so my biggest battle has been sweets but I’m finding it a lot easier when I put my mind to it. I ended up losing 11 lbs and 10 inches since I made sure to incorporate exercise. We are all completely committed to the paleo way of life, and I look forward to watching my family reap all the benefits of changing for the better.
We tried a couple of new recipes now that we are on the second month. They have all been huge successes. And since I am half Mexican, the kids are missing my regular tacos, burritos, rice, enchiladas, etc. Pasta or tortillas were a huge staple for our large family. 
3 of the new recipes all revolved around Mexican food, of course. 
Try number one was: 
Cauliflower Rice from NomNomPaleo

This stuff was the shhhh! I loved it, the kids loved it, even my non vegetable loving ginger ate it all up! There were no leftovers.

We made Chicken BLT Tacos out of them. Schmamazing!!!
Chicken BLT Tacos with spinach on Coconut Flour Tortillas

The tortillas definitely tasted a bit eggy for my liking, but not a bad compromise. I am still on the lookout for something more flatbread like and less omelette like.

Last one was something I make regularly without a recipe, and I just omitted the potatoes. 
Chile Verde from Everyday Paleo. I make this so often, and is one of my husband’s favorite meals that I make. I miss the cheese, sour cream and beans and rice that normally come with, but hey, that is the sacrifice of being healthy, right?

My version is really simple being that it is just roasted tomatillos, jalapenos, garlic and pork with salt to taste. I add a little coconut flour if it needs thickening and voila, its done.

This past week has proven that mexican can be done with some tweeking. But I’m sure every once in a while, we will want the real thing. This will make it a lot easier to curb the cravings though.

 Stay Malicious, Rebels 🙂


Leave a Reply

