Perfect Cartwheel Shorts from Ruby & Jack Patterns and a GIVEAWAY

There is an exciting reveal of new pattern designers coming to the indie pdf pattern world right now called the “Aspiring Designers Challenge.” Their patterns are being revealed daily through May 28th with a BIG giveaway at the end of the challenge. Stay in tuned with all these amazing designers and your chance to win all the patterns (they giveaway the pattern designed daily as well as the big giveaway at the end.) I have been lucky enough to test for 6 of the designers, but I tested/am testing 3 of the featured patterns. I really love how creative and hardworking all these designers are, as well as so open to suggestions and issues that need fixing.

So today, I introduce you to Ruby and Jack patterns. She made the most adorable shorts ever. They are knit, ruffled shorts. Those of you who have girly girls, gymnasts, dancers, or just girls with flair, this is a pattern you want. I love the bouncy, flouncy ruffles. The length is perfect for the modest moms and girls. The fit went through many edits before she felt she had the perfect product. See what I mean about how attentive these designers are? 
Do you spy the bribery? Yeah, she has become a demanding model. 
Now, when I made these, my sewing machine was on the fritz, so it did not want to ruffle, gather, anything. She is in need of a tune up bad because the regular maintenance is not keeping her behaving at the moment. Do you know what that means? Hand ruffling. Yes, by hand. 5 layers of long, thin, staticy knit ruffles to apply. Now, I may or may not be a bit of a glutton for punishment. But I got it done, with tons of a pins and few curse words later (ok a LOT!) However, do you see the end result? I got beautiful neon ruffled shorts for my very spunky and full of life almost 3 year old.
The instructions were easy to understand. She is very patient with you and willing to answer any questions. I was really impressed with all the work into this pattern. I will be making many more of these (once I fix my machine because hand ruffling is brutal.) This is a great project for upcycling all those all t shirts. 
The pattern is on sale for $5 for a limited time for the pattern release, which you can get here
You can follow Ruby and Jack on facebook for updates about upcoming patterns and sales. 
You have to see the rainbow ones she made for the pattern release. I now want to make rainbow ones. For myself 😉 
Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for your chance to win a copy of the pattern.!
 a Rafflecopter giveaway 
Thanks for checking in. Support indie designers.
Later Rebels

2 Comments Add yours

  1. These are really cute! My daughter would love them. Thanks for linking up with Tuesday Sews at PiePie Designs!

    Like

  2. I love this! Thanks for all your work on these, especially without the cooperation of you sewing machine! : / They turned out beautiful anyway !

    Like

Leave a Reply

