E + M No7 pattern Tour and a GIVEAWAY

Hi there. I know it has been a bit quiet, but not having a sewing machine at the moment is kind of depressing. Ok, it is a lot depressing. What on earth did I do with my time before this? Apparently nothing!

Well, I still found the time and energy to sew an amazing shirt for a pattern tour. Have you seen E+M patterns? They are impeccable! Allison, the designer, pays major attention to detail, and if you follow the directions, you are left with a professional finish on every. single. pattern.  This particular pattern is the No7 pattern aka shirt. I love the freshness of this pattern. My boys are older and rather picky since hitting double digits. My super cool boy, that we call Friley, loves this pattern. I got to pretest it before my sewing machine went to be one with the underworld. And here is his first version. I think is has lots of potential to be cool and hip or preppy and classic, depending on which way you decide to take it. We tend to venture towards the rock side so we go for hip and cool. Therefore, the checkers and sneakers came into play.

I am participating in a blog tour showing off the latest release from E+M Patterns!  The schedule is posted below. At each stop on the tour, you have a chance to check out the new pattern, funky variations and hacks, and reviews. Each blogger will also be giving away a pattern as well. So check out the itinerary below:

Each stop on the tour includes an opportunity for you to win a copy of an E+M Pattern!  So come tour with us as we check out this cool little shirt!

And if you just can’t wait for the giveaways to end for you to win, you can purchase them.  The E+M Boy’s Shirt No. 7 is available now for $8!  You can purchase it in any of Allison’s online pattern stores: E+M Patterns official website, Craftsy, and Etsy.

On the tester version, I used this black chambray fabric with a bright citron lime. I also made a cool pocket detail that had my pleatherish fabric. I thought it was a great color combo for a super cool kid like my son. He really does have such an amazing fashion sense. I look forward to seeing what he will do with it when he becomes a teenager and adult. He is really awesome at matching colors and making things work. he even drafts his own designs. Isn’t it cool having amazing kids that have all these talents?
When I agreed to the blog tour (which I am really disappointed that I did not get to post yesterday) Friday the 13th, is my favorite day. Add in a super cool full moon, and well, I am just about giddy. But life got in the way. No sewing machine still as I try and try to find the right pick, so I, at the very last minute, in normal Melissa style, hand sewed a shirt for my son and the tour. I will take this moment to toot my own horn and pat myself on the back because, that my friends, is badassery if I do say so myself. So I will. Ok, enough gloating. But seriously, hand sewing is a lost art, and I am glad I still know how to embrace it. 
I made mine a short sleeve, with a lined sleeve to give it a cool look. I also decided to do a welt pocket instead. I really like the look it gave. I also love the black and white detail because he can pair it with any crazy color he wants. 
The pattern is very easy to follow. Some of my favorite details are the elbow 3/4 sleeve. The boatneck neckline. It is really easy to get on and off. My son didn’t want buttons so we do snaps. Really easy to hide and you cannot even tell it has an opening. I love the pocket detail. I also am a huge fan of the professional finishes you will find in all E + M patterns. 
I “hacked” it a little bit. But not too much. First thing was making it a short sleeve with a lined sleeve so I could roll it up for a cool look. Then I added welt pocket instead of the square pocket. I love how it turned out. It gave off the exact vibe I was going for. You will want this pattern whether you have a classic boy or a cool rocker boy who rocks fashion. 
He is such an uber cool kid. I love his style. 
Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour. You will see the work of some amazing seamstresses and I just love how everyone interprets this pattern. 
This is my very first giveaway. So enter the rafflecopter giveaway here so that you can try to win your own copy of this amazing pattern. You also want to check out all the other patterns that E+M has. I love this pattern. They are the perfect pants for boys and girls and can easily be the most amazing shorts ever! 
You can find E+M on etsy, facebook, and their own personal website
See you all soon. Hopefully very soon. Stay rebellious!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Awesome Job!!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Awesome Job!!

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Something cool !

    Like

  4. Candy Mak says:

    I love the color block shirt you made. I would love to make one for my ds.

    Like

  5. Lori says:

    Both look great! I did short sleeves for my boy, too. I am loving this shirt. 🙂

    Like

  6. I love the bright green and grey! What a fabulous color combination!

    Like

  7. Sara says:

    I would love to sew this for my little man. I am always on the look for boy's patterns so Im crossing my fingers! 🙂 Oh, but I am already thinking on some pattern hacking for my girls… 😉

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    I love this. But I would like skirt #5

    Like

  9. This is so cute for the boys.

    Like

  10. Such a COOL boy's shirt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

