Ocean Song Rose: A Secret Garden Dress

Meet Ocean Rose. She is a beautiful, classic yet right on trend dress made especially for my little girl who has an eye for fashion. When I named this dress, I first thought Earl Grey or English Rose, but felt it wasn’t the right fit… so I researched roses a bit and found this beauty named Ocean Song which is a beautiful lavender rose. I think it suits the dress perfectly.

Now, onto the pattern of this dress. I had the privilege of testing this dress from E+M patterns and Sprouting Jube Jube. The dress pattern is The Secret Garden Dress, which also happens to be one of my favorite movies. It features a beautiful Bow look flounce on the back with a deep V, with half circle skirt. It is Be-you-tee-ful! Seriously, I am so smitten with this dress! And my daughter adores it.

I had this beautiful gray toned rose print in my stash and for the peek of the flounce and lining, I used some of my husband’s old work shirts. It gave it a little personal touch so she could have a piece of her Dad with her.

I think the tutorial of this dress actually makes it an advanced beginner because it was so easy to put together. The bodice fit my daughter perfect! Since she is so slender, that almost never happens.

This pattern features a side zipper. If you have a daughter who is straight up and down like mine, you can get away with doing it zipper free because of the deep V back. It slips right over my daughter’s head. I made one change to my dress. I tacked down the flounce to the underskirt in 3 places so that the bow impression stays in place. If you make or attach a pettiskirt underneath, you can really get that fancy, girly look and see the flounce even better. The pattern also has the option of a simple skirt which is lovely as well.

Now on to the good stuff. The Secret Garden Dress is now available for you to purchase and is on sale for $6 until Tuesday night (tomorrow) HERE or Etsy. Also, don’t forget to visit Sprouting JubeJube too for your chance to win a copy of the pattern HERE. And stay tuned to E+M patterns on facebook for all future releases and sales.

I cannot wait to see all the Secret Garden dresses to come!!

Stay Rebellious
2 Comments Add yours

  1. That is just stunning! You picked the perfect fabric for that dress!

    Like

  2. amy mayen says:

    It really is stunning, I think it's my favorite!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

