Kitty Cat No 13 Dress

One of my favorite pattern designers, Allison of E+M Patterns has been very busy making up new patterns. I tested another beautiful pattern of hers, that is a staple dress pattern: No 13 Dress. It has a simple, blank palette to create into whatever you want. When I saw the tester photo, I knew exactly what I wanted to do. See, that very special little girl above, is not that different from many little girls: She loves cats! However, her mama is very allergic so there will not be a cat in the near future. What does that mean? That this sometimes overachieving mama will try to make up for that whenever I can so I made a “Black cat dress.”  I knew this pattern would be perfect for something solid with a fun detail, like the cat face I embroidered. 

This dress looks simple, and it was just as easy to assemble. With testing, things always take a little longer due to having to make sure you follow all directions thoroughly, but this is easily an hour and under dress. You can definitely get it done during naptime, if you still have that luxury. The directions are sectioned and thorough, yet very easy to understand. The best thing about E+M patterns is that she includes seam finishes on how to make the inside look pretty and prevent that annoying fraying. What does this mean? If you don’t use a serger, you have beautiful french style seam finishes. It really does make the garments feel beautiful and like they can endure a long life. 
You can do many different things with this pattern. Some of the dresses shown were color blocked, or patterns that line up beautifully. The other options that have been discussed are pockets, or shortening to a tunic length for a peplum style. This would be delicious as a hi low dress or a really comfortable maxi. What do you envision this dress in?
Once you try one of Allison’s patterns, you will want to try all of them. You definitely need to try one of E+M patterns, if you haven’t yet. you can find some of my other reviews/projects here and here and here. Today is the LAST DAY to get the latest pattern for $4 here.
You can also stay updated for new patterns, sales, tester calls via Facebook
Join the Facebook group to become a “groupie.” You will love the brand even more once you start interacting with the designer. 
So be sure to comment and share what you would make with this pattern. 
As always, stay rebellious 😉 
4 Comments Add yours

  1. So cute!! Love the kitty kat!

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    Oh adorable!! I love the kitty face! I love Allison's patterns – she's a great designer and you did a fantastic job with the dress 🙂

    Like

  3. I love the dress! I bet your daughter just loved it!!

    I'm always happy when I find new designers to start loving 🙂 Joining the facebook group now!

    Like

  4. That is sooo stinkin' cute, seriously! I wish I had a little girl to sew for. <3
    ChicAndAlluring.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

