80s Cartoons: Popeye

This week is the kickoff of the new season of Project Run and Play, and the first theme was 80’s Cartoons. I thought of all the normal cartoons, but what stood out to me the most was Popeye, and YES, there was a new Popeye series in the 80s. I LOVE Popeye, and all the classic cartoons. 

Since I have plenty of children to work with, I decided to do both Popeye and Olive Oyl for my inspiration. :FUN FACT: My husband’s nickname growing up was Popeye. My Dad called me Olive Oyl because I was a bony tall thing with ginormous feet. So you can say that Popeye holds s special place in my heart. 
I made a simple white tank with gold trim and a deep v back, a cropped vest with a red and black shawl style lapel and some blue high waisted shorts, inspired by the sailor look. The shorts were improvised from the summer shorties pattern from Baste + Gather, and the tank and vest were self drafted. 

Tank top-self drafted
Vest: self drafted
Shorts: Summer Shorties
Shoes: Thrifted vans
Then for Olive Oyl, I made a full pleated skirt, a tank top and a red cardigan. I used the Petit Pan halter pattern from Winter Wear designs and made it criss cross back, upcycled an old work shirt of my husbands and upcycled a red sweater adding lace for the “scallop” neck that Olive Oyl wears. 
I was pretty ecstatic with the outcome without looking costume-y! 
One of the best things about this sewing project for me was that all my patterns were FREE, self drafted or upcycling. And I only spent 50 cents to buy the blue for the shorts. Everything else was in my stash already!

Tank top: Petit Pan Halter
Cardigan: Upcycled/self drafted
Skirt: Upcycled/self drafted
Shoes: Ross
This was a lot of fun to throw my spin on a fun era of memories for my generation. I can’t wait to see what I come up with for the next one. 

Thanks for visiting. What 80s cartoon inspired you? 
Don’t forget to check out all the other amazing entries here
7 Comments Add yours

  1. Bethany says:

    These are really cute! They caught my eye in the link up – great job.

    Like

  2. Call Ajaire says:

    So adorable! I love those high waisted summer shorties! And the cross back tank is one I need to check out now!

    Like

  3. amy mayen says:

    My favorite 80s cartoon look yet- love!!!!

    Like

  4. Thanks so much! They were a lot of fun to make and photograph

    Like

  5. So so cute!!! The pictures are cracking me up too! They look like they had a blast!

    Like

  6. Such fun–and how great that you were able to make all of that for next to nothing! I love a good bargain 🙂

    Like

  7. I love that you did both of them, those outfits are too cute. My fave are the high waisted shorts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

