Seeing Green: Emerson Dress Pattern Tour

It’s my turn on the Emerson Dress Tour, which is the first pattern released from Ginger House Designs. It is her first release, and I am very pleased with the result. It is a simple empire waist bodice with a ruffle detail, optional flutter sleeve and tunic or dress length. The instructions were easy to understand, and the pattern was very nice and easy to read. It looked so professional. It is a perfect first pattern without being too safe.
**This pattern was provided to me free of charge for the blog tour, but the critique is all my own opinion.**
Check out what the other bloggers have made here

  • Monday, Sept 22: Felt With Love Designs and Giggles & Beans
  • Tuesday, Sept 23: Made by Sarah
  • Wednesday, Sept 24: Britches N Boomers
  • Thursday, Sept 25Sprouting JubeJube and Rebel & Malice
  • Friday, Sept 26Amanda Rose
  • So I had to figure out what I was going to choose for my dress. I said, heck, let’s do all the options! I chose the dress length, flutter sleeves and did the ruffle. This is a great pattern for mixing prints, color blocking, or fun details like ribbon, lace, ricrac. Basically any embellishment. For mine I made 2 changes, I added an additional ruffle, and I lined the flutter sleeve.  For the center bodice, I used a snow leopard ruffle knit. It gave a fun texture and dimension, and with the metallic green, and black chambray I chose, it ended up more Halloween than intended. 
    It was a very fast sew. Once I figured out what I wanted to use, sewing time was around 90 minutes. So this was probably about a 2-2.5 hour project with pattern and cutting. The button holes are definitely my kryptonite, but I am getting better with more practice. It is one of my least favorite things to do. 
    Here are a few details about the Emerson Dress pattern:

    I want to make the top as it seems like a great fall layering piece. The loose fit and shape make it great for all the season, but I see it looking really sweet for fall and winter with some leggings over a long sleeve shirt. 
    Thanks for visiting me and don’t forget to stay tuned with Ginger House Designs.
    I think she is going to have a lot of great patterns in the future!
    Follow on: Facebook
    Buy on: Etsy
    Follow Blog
    You can buy the pattern for $8 here

    Thanks for stopping by, and Stay rebellious!

    One Comment Add yours

    Leave a Reply

    