Wildwood Prue Dress

We, meaning I, love fantasy books, especially YA fiction. So a few years ago, every time I saw the Wildwood book at a local grocery store of all places. It has the most beautiful cover, which intrigued me. So I picked it up and read the description and was hooked. Tell me this wouldn’t have you…

Prue McKeel’s life is ordinary. At least until her brother is abducted by a murder of crows and taken to the Impassable Wilderness, a dense, tangled forest on the edge of Portland. No one’s ever gone in—or at least returned to tell of it.”


We have read all the books. My oldest son and I are the ones most into it. But I am slowly getting my 8 year old into some more intense reading. The beautiful thing about these books is there are illustrations throughout the book without it just being a big chapter book full of pictures. 
One of the big scenes from the book is when Prue, the main character and heroine (Yay for female heroines!!) sees her brother get abducted by a murder of crows. I knew I wanted to incorporate this into my outfit since Kids Clothing Week theme is Storybook. 

I decided to try freezer paper stenciling, which wasn’t bad for my first time, BUT it messed up on my very last bird. I wanted to make a dress that still felt like something Prue would wear so I made a woven dress with navy and white horizontal stripes for the bodice, and then made a circle skirt with vertical stripes. I was debating where to place the stencil and decided on the lower skirt since the crows were flying away and it seemed more authentic. After seeing the placement, I should have gone bodice. Live and learn, but I still like what I made. I also cut my self drafted pattern to tight so I had to add an entire panel down the back side to install the zipper. We all make mistakes, and I make LOTS of them since 5 kids can be rather distracting. 

Overall, we have a team TIE? It’s not a loss, right? I mean, it fits her beautiful and she loves it. Heck, maybe it is a close Win. Either way, I finished so I am putting that on team accomplished. 

This modeling gig is so boring

At least she loves books


Thanks for stopping by to see my final look, and only true book inspired one.

Stay Rebellious!
Leave a Reply

