Katniss Inspired Feathered Collar & Tutorial

First off, do you know what today is?!?!? Mockingjay Part 1 premieres. Ok, well really for the fan girls and boys, last night. I won’t be able to see it until next week but I am fangirl ecstatic!!! I love the Hunger Games books, minus the ending. But I won’t ruin that for you that have not read or just haven’t caught up yet. It isn’t an ending you would quite think of though, so I guess there is that. If you ever got a chance to read my about me, then you know I love YA literature. It is something I am still drawn to and haven’t grown out of. I have grown into some other fiction, but not out of that.

So you can imagine my excitement when I found out Rae Gun Ramblings was doing a whole tour dedicated to Hunger Games, well I jumped right on board. Even more exciting? I got the date of the movie career! I call that the lottery in blogland!
There is so much inspiration from the movies and books that I didn’t know which way I wanted to go. A printable? A screenprint shirt or pillow? Something fashionable? Quotes? I was struck with the fashion of Katniss. Some of her normal daily fashion struck me, but since I am glamour girl, I went with her black dress from Catching Fire. The feathered shoulder really stood out to me and signified the Mockingjay without being too literal.

So I decided that I would put together a really fast tutorial on how to make a fun and fashionable accessory to help you get your Katniss on. Have a big test coming up? A tough meeting? A date night? Girl, we got this! So carry on to the tutorial…

Materials:

Katniss Inspired Feathered Collar Pattern HERE
Black Fabric
Feathers
Ribbon or fabric for ties (1 yard)
thread
scissors
sewing machine or needle and thread
glue gun and hot glue

1. Print pattern, cut out pattern piece. Pin to fabric on fold and cut 2 . I just used black cotton, but if you want something cozier you can use fleece or flannel. Cut 2 pieces of ribbon or make 2 ties. I used 1 yard so you need (2) 18 in pieces. 
2. Unfold your pieces and iron all flat. Sandwich ties between fabric right sides together(RST) on each edge 3/4 in from corner. Pin pieces together from point to point around outside of collar. Leave inner circle unpinned. 
3. Sew around the collar making sure not to catch the ends of the ties. Be sure not to sew the inner circle. Flip collar right side out and iron all until all seams are flat and make sure to pull ties out. 
4. You will either need 2 in wide ribbon or a 2 in wide piece of fabric 15 inches long. Pin the ribbon or fabric to one side of the collar around the inside that you did not sew. 
5. Sew the piece you pinned and then iron toward the other side. Leave like this until you attach feathers. 
6. Glue a thin strip or hot glue down the back of the feather and start placing all around the collar until collar is covered with the feathers. Once feathers are placed, start gluing the ribbon or fabric over the feathers until binded all around collar. 
7. Your collar should be complete and the feathers should all be covered so they don’t irritate your neck. 
Throw this on with a tee, dress, jacket, whatever you fancy and get your Katniss on. And if someone doesn’t like it or gets in your way, let them know…

I hope you enjoyed my tutorial. If you have any problems or questions, feel free to email me at dollofmalice@gmail.com. I tried to make this quick and simple, but what may be simple in my mind, may be mass confusion to you.

Don’t forget to enter the giveaway Rae Gun Ramblings is doing and check out all the other amazing things on her HG tour HERE!! You can win this package!

The prize pack includes:
Thanks for stopping by! 
May the odds be ever in your favor. 
Stay Rebellious! 
Leave a Reply

