Mystery Challenge Rockabilly Birdy & Free Pattern

Did you get to see when I participated in a mystery challenge in August? It was a lot of fun, and I got the theme of Disco. I love the mystery theme because it challenges you and forces you out of your comfort zone.

My theme was chosen by Sara at Made by Sara. If you are not familiar, check out what beautiful work she has created. I am also jealous of her being in a beautiful setting.

Well, the most exciting thing for me was my theme: Rockabiily! In case you haven’t caught on yet, I kind of have a thing for mid century culture. Not over-enthusiatic because I love the modern too, but enough to give my style a sense of classic.

I didn’t want to do the classic dress, and with it being February, I really loved the idea of a playsuit or cropped outfit. So my inspiration went to one of my favorite styles: high waisted pants and a halter top. I also wanted to stray  from the stereotypical red, cherries and polka dots. That is a bit harder to do. BUT I succeeded and used a bird print bandanna I had, along with some black and white polka dot scraps, and I upcycled a pair of boys slacks to be high waisted pants.

Mystery Challenge
2/22: Amy – Friends Stitched Together – Arabian Nights
2/23: Alicia – Felt with Love Designs – Monochrome
2/24: Melissa – Rebel & Malice – Rockabilly
2/25: Jessica – The Berry Bunch – Black&White
2/26: Amanda – Mandy K Designs – Audrey Hepburn
2/27: Tasha – Friends Stitched Together – The Great Barrier Reef
2/28: Maartje – Huisje Boompje Boefjes – Broadway
3/1: Jonie – Knot Sew Normal – French Revolution
Danica – The Sewing Sparrow – Nature
3/2: Sara – Made by Sara – Under the Big Top
3/3: Fenna – FABulous Home Sewn  – Jane Austen
3/4: Ula – Lulu & Celeste – Woodstock ’69
3/5: Maegen – Mae & K – 1970’s Cartoons
Starly – Sew Starly – Mythical Creatures
3/6: Tisha – Milileke – WWII/1940’s
Roxanne – Pen Seb Rox – Paper Airplanes
3/7: Meriel – create3.5 – Nursery Rhymes
3/8: Barbara – Country Bella – Steampunk

Round up of all the mystery challenges HERE

I loved this top so much, and though it would be so fun as a bathing suit or even the start of something else, that I decided to try my hand at a free pattern. 
The tutorial and PATTERN are available in the links. 
Tutorial

Materials Needed: 1/2 yard fabric, scrap of contrasting fabric, 1 1/4 yd bias tape, 1/2 in elastic, scissors, thread, sewing machine (unless you want to torture yourself doing it by hand)
All 2 pattern pieces are going to be cut on the FOLD and will each be 2 pieces. You can use a main and lining fabric or just a main. 
IMPORTANT: When printing this pattern, you want to make sure you print it at 100% or Actual Size/No scaling. Do not “fit to page.” 

I hope I have inspired you to get your Rockabilly on!
Click the photo below for the free pattern in Size 4 only
Stay Rebellious!

Leave a Reply

