Purple Ombre Princess: GYCT Pattern review

It has been rather quiet in here. That is what happens when you get busy testing patterns. hosting a sew-along, and dealing with illnesses and toothaches. Now that everyone is on the mend, I can start getting caught back up… just in time for quite a bit of content coming this month. I think I will be bringing back “Handmade Birthday” for my almost 9 year old. Ideas though, I need ideas for a tween. Another one. Ugh!

So on to the gorgeous pattern I made, it is the GYCT (Get Your Crap Together) Happily Ever After Dress. This dress was made with princesses in mind, specifically the newest rendition of Cinderella. Thank you Disney because I am S-I-C-K of Frozen. We tend to watch a lot of Maleficent right now. So this dress features a princess seamed V bodice with an invisible zipper in the back, a shawl with butterflies option, and a full skirt with overlay skirt. You, of course, can add as many overlay layers as you desire to get that crazy gypsy wedding poofiness, if you so desire. I opted for a chiffon overlay instead. Full, but still flowing. I also used this purple ombre taffeta. I bought these fabrics together when I found them for $2 a yard and couldn’t pass them up. My favorite color for a dress I would love. Oh well, at least my daughter got an amazing dress she will love.

I didn’t use an invisible zip because I didn’t have one like I thought.

I paid special attention to making sure that the princess seams would match up the ombre when I put the seams together. Go me, that was not an easy thing to determine! I used the same taffeta for the underskirt, which I probably should have saved it. Maybe I will be doing a swap with a lining fabric so I can get more use out of that pretty ombre.

Fabric used: Ombre Taffeta and chiffon
Regular zip used
Fascinator: handmade from 4th birthday
Shoes: Children’s Place sandals

This pattern went together very easily. Princess seams are a little tricky, so that is the most important part. This will be the part that you want to focus on the most to get clean and straight seams that fit perfectly. The zipper installation was explained so well. You should feel very comfortable installing it if it is the first zipper you have done. I also chose to handsew the lining closed so that there was not topstitching on the bodice. It turned out even more beautiful than I could have imagined, and the bodice fit my daughter just perfect. Because it is a zip closure and a tight fit, you really want to get accurate chest measurements. This will look best tailored to the child’s body.

Get it HERE for the low regular price of $7.95! Make sure to join the GYCT Facebook Group to stay on top of sales, sew-alongs, giveaways and new pattern releases.

I received this pattern free in exchange for testing the pattern, but the opinions are unbiased and all my own.
Thanks for stopping by! Stay Rebellious!
Leave a Reply

