May Mystery Challenge: Joan of Arc

My very late Mystery Challenge entry is here! My gosh! Life has been so hectic around here, and it is summer vacation. I’m going to need a lot of Calgon. I was so excited when I got my challenge from Amy of Friends Stitched Together: Joan of Arc. In case you need a refresher about who Joan of Arc was, she was a renegade, and a female renegade of sorts. A radical? A witch? A heretic? During that time, she could have been a number of things. But the fact of the matter was that she believed and she was not afraid of that belief. Her premonitions made her more of a witch. Today she would be insane or mentally ill with the type of passion she showed. No one knows, but her fearlessness and the fact that others had faith in her, made her a threat to England and she lived a short life of 19 years which ended at the stake. The Renaissance period was not kind to anyone different, and especially not to women so that is no shock that she was shut up quickly.

So with this prompt, I was so excited to find the infamous Alexander McQueen had made a collection based upon her. I didn’t know if I wanted some sort of armor or something fiery. I ended up at the very last minute deciding on the chain of the armor with a little twist to Game of Thrones. Hey, what can I say? It is on the television. I used the remainder of my speckled sweater knit and used the Moto Maxx shirt from Love Notions because it gave me the feeling of armor. It ended up being perfect for the look I wanted to achieve. I also made a bib of scales in a stretch  pleather, which is the same fabric as the shoulders and neck band. How badass does my child look? And let me tell you, it fits her personality to a T. I just added some basic black jeggings and boots to complete the look. Then I made a cardboard sword because what kids don’t like cardboard swords?

This really challenged me, and I am quite pleased with the end result. I almost thought I wasn’t going to make it with all the curve balls being catapulted at me. Seriously. I think the were medicine balls instead of baseballs.

Holy fierceness!

She looks like a saint right?

Don’t forget to check out all the other amazing things made. We had a big group this time around and it was so fun seeing all that they came up with!


5/26 │ Create 3.5 – George Sand
6/3│ Mae & KTeslaPretty Little BlogMoon LandingKnot Sew Normal – Lutie Eugenia Sterns
6/7Sew Domesticated1960’s/Civil Rights Movement │ Rebel and Malice HEREFrench Revolution/Joan of Arch │ The Fabric Hoarder – Gypsies

Thanks for stopping to see our wild creations!

Stay rebellious!

Leave a Reply

