Canadian Pattern Tour: Closet Case Files

It is my second round on the Canadian designer tour, and I was both excited and super intimidated when I decided to make the Ginger Jeans from Closet Case Files. Now this was a huge undertaking because I am one of those people with the “Baby got back” kind of butt. Itty bitty waist with a round thing in your face? Yeah, that be me- though it is not so itty bitty these days, and more along the lines of small or maybe tiny, but only in comparison to the bum people pay for these days.

If you are planning on making these, check out the Ginger Sew Along. There is tons of photos and useful information there. It ended up being my go to to help me visualize better,

I started with the size 16, because of my hip measurements and knew there would be lots of altering to get it right. Basically that meant the seat would stay about the same, and then there would be lots of taking in everywhere else. My legs in the knees and ankles ended up closer to the smaller sizes. My waist is according to size 10. This involved adjusting the yoke and the sides of the jeans. I also knew my waistband would be smaller. I cut it on the bias to make sure it had a bit of ease to go with the adjustment.

First step after cutting out all your pieces? basting your pattern pieces together to see where you need to adjust fit because we are unique bodies perfect for us. I’m not going to lie. My adjustment period (with 5 little distractions around) was about 3 hours. This involved basting, seam ripping, more basting, more seam ripping, trimming, more basting. I had to adjust the crotch depth, the seat, full back adjustment, and fit throughout the legs once we got past the meaty part of my thigh. I can still adjust more, but that was all I could handle for this pair. I retraced with my new jean pieces so I have a starting point for next time. That should make it much easier to get the perfect fit on my next jeans.

Have you thought about making your own pair of jeans to fit you perfectly but run away screaming in terror? That is ok, I have been too. Pants seem to be so scary to us for some reason. This pattern, the details and the sew along will get you sewing your own pair in no time. Really, try it. Maybe have a drink while you try to make it more fun. But seriously, once you make a pair of jeans, you will feel like a mother effin rockstar. At least I do! I don’t care if my kids think I am crazy, I am officially a badass whose but looks goooood in her jeans. That is the ultimate detail, right?

The important details:
Sizes 0-18
Very detailed instructions in tutorial
Optional CCF sew along on website HERE
Front pockets, coin pocket, back pockets
Yoke waistband
Zip and button fly closure
Straight leg or skinny
Mid rise or high waist rise

The tutorial details everything from tools to topstitching, rivets. Everything you need to know to make yourself a professional pair of jeans.

I bought this denim from Girl Charlee, my pocket and facing fabric was Skopelos from Bee Quilted Beauties, my denim thread, zipper and needles from Wawak. I decorated my pockets with some black lace and gold ribbon instead of creating a design. You can’t see the lace, but it will show more with fading.

You can see my newly repaired machine was getting a little angry sewing denim and topstitching with jean thread, but for the most part, behaved. I am almost ready for a second pair. Maybe next month.

I seriously want to tell everyone I made these jeans, but that seems inappropriate and kind of crazy. You can betcha that I will tell them proudly if they ask where I got them though haha.

June 1 – 3 Gracious Threads – InterviewCreative BugThe Wholesome Mamastitched by crystal
June 4 – 6 Jalie – InterviewShaffer SistersCall Ajairehibbadoray
June 8 – 10 Thread Theory – InterviewHandmade BoyRebel & MaliceSew Out of Control
June 11 – 13 Audrey & Tiffany – InterviewAll Things Katy!Not Sew FastConversas de Hermana
June 15 – 17 E+M Patterns – InterviewFrom-a-BoxMade by SaraClimbing the Willow
June 17 – 19 Victory Patterns – InterviewSwoodson SaysThread Riding HoodSprouting JubeJube
June 18 – 20 FABulous Home Sewn – InterviewCreate3.5Calm and CarrionStitches by Laura
June 22 – 24 Filles a Maman – InterviewPattern RevolutionPhatQuarterssewstarlyHouse of Estrela
June 24 – 26 Closet Case Files – Interviewgloria juneRebel & MaliceSew Far North
June 25 – 27 Elegance & Elephants – InterviewSprouting JubeJubeAmandaRoseMae & K
June 29 – 30 Lulu & Celeste: new makes and a round up post
July 1st Last day to enter Giveaways and Final Round up Post!

Make sure to enter the rafflecopter for your chance to win this prize: Two patterns of the winner’s choice.

Giveaway runs from June 24-27. Start and end times 12am EST.

Leave a Reply

