Pretty in Paris: KCW Sewing

Oh it is summer. When the smells, sounds, and sights make all your memories. you can see the kids playing in the sprinklers, eating popsicles and watermelon, having bbqs, swimming, traveling to new places, camping, sleeping in, staying up late, outdoor movies. Sunburns, sweat, tanlines, freckles. Splashing, giggles, sizzles, and romances. It also makes a fun, yet tiring time for us parents, especially when you have school age children. Summer has always been one of my favorites times, and traveling in the summer always keeps a special place in my heart.

kid's clothes week

The theme for KCW is “Travel” and someday, I want to experience summer in another country and take everything in. I am so used to summer in the United States, in California. I would love to try the new foods, swim the seas, wear the clothes, meet the people. So with that thought in mind, I took my pretend trip to France, and what I envisioned for a summer day in Paris. Simplicity, ease, comfort, but always chic. That is what I think of when I think of french fashion.

I had a tulip front hack in mind for a while for the Clemence shorts from Filles a Maman. I saw this PIN and took some inspiration from that for the shorts. I curved the front pieces, added bias to create a faux piping, and added a waistband with piping in between. They turned out a little sporty than I imagined, but with the top I love the look.

I used the Fishstick designs Free Tank pattern and modified it to be cropped and fitted, and added a waistband in this black and white striped knit. The finishing touches were some black ballet flats and a ponytail with a red felt hairbow. I thought she looked perfect for a summer in Paris. Now just to get to Europe some day.

Thanks for stopping by.
Stay rebellious!
Leave a Reply

