Float on a Balloon: KCW sewing

I had this big grand idea to make something inspired by a hot air balloon for KCW. I envisioned something more abstract and with lots of volume, but my brain was not cooperating for me. I guess I have summer brain too. So my traveling theme, is Hot air balloons because I have always wanted to go to the Hot Air Balloon Festival in Albequerque, NM.

kid's clothes week

With that note, I knew I wanted the bottoms to be slim like the basket is in comparison to the balloon. I used the Rose skirt from Filles a Maman. I changed it up a little by using the back piece for the front and back to create a comfy pencil style, that a child could wear. It turned out better than I could have imagined. I also got a chance to use my first time purchase of Art Gallery knit from the Happy Home line. Yay! All the things they say about AG knits? They are so true! My daughter even said this outfit is so soft!

I wanted something full of volume for the top, but the tops that had a ton of volume all over are just too hot for a place that is in triple digits all summer long. I decided to go with an a-line style and use some AG knit and woven to make a hot air balloon applique. The coral woven fabric is some mystery bargain I scored for $1 a yard. I have no clue what it is, but it is soft and pretty.
I used the Country Rose Flutter dress from Ginger Baby patterns to create a top that would balance out the skirt. I think it is perfect! And even better is that now she has an outfit that will work when school starts in August because it is hot here the first 2 months of school.

Well, I am off and so glad I accomplished more than I thought I would during Kids Clothes Week. Now I need a little break and need to fit the missing child for some patterns I am testing.

Thanks for stopping by, and watch out for the crazy kids (like this one) this summer.

Stay Rebellious!
Leave a Reply

