Sweet Dreams Vintage Bloomers Pattern Review

I love sewing patterns, even more so when they give me a feeling of whimsy and nostalgia. When I was aksed if I wanted to review one of Rabbit Rabbit Creations patterns, I of course said yes! I am familiar with her patterns, but she has so many I have not tried yet. Her pattern shop has patterns for baby, girls, boys and women. And her design is not one you would call signature. She has a broad variety of patterns that are everything from vintage to bohemian to edgy and modern. I love how diverse her designs are. You may know her for her most well known pattern: the Hummingbird dress. It is one of my favorites and I use it often. In fact, I hacked it to go with the bloomers.

I decided to review the Sweet Dreams Vintage Bloomers. I love how nostalgic they feel. They are also the perfect item to wear to bed, in the summer, or even under skirts and dresses.

Pattern Details:

Sizes 1-12 years
Woven or knit fabrics can be used.
Casings for elastic
Easy to understand tutorial with photographs
Measurements for waist, hip and height to personalize fit
Instructions on how to combine sizes for best fit
Rolled hems

Changes I made

No elastic casings. I attached the elastic directly to the fabric
I used baby hems instead of a rolled hem (perfect option for the non-serger sewists)

Jasmin’s patterns rely heavily on measurements. It may seem like a pain, but it helps to ensure you make the best fit for your little person since we are not one size fits all. I love how she tells what to do for height, chest, waist, etc. It really helps you make a flattering garment for your child.

Does this look like it goes together fast? It goes together sooooo fast! I left off the casing since I like the ruffles it creates and my daughter doesn’t mind the elastic. I definitely recommend doing the casing or shirring because it was a tight fit pulling the elastic. Otherwise, I love the look it created.

I decided to hack the Hummingbird dress to make a tunic to pair with the bloomers. Oh my word, it was so cute! I also used the Color Me Fabric from Welcome to the Mouse House for Michael Miller fabrics because the princess print combined with “sweet dreams” seemed like the most perfect combination. Bee Quilted Beauties has been the source of all my fabric addictions!

This is such a cute pattern, and I definitely want the women’s pattern for myself now. Make sure you go check out all the patterns. The everyday prices are very fair starting at $4 and there are bundles for purchasing more than one pattern at a time.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope this review proved as enabling more PDF purchases.

Stay Rebellious!

Leave a Reply

