Momiform Makeover



Check back later for updated photos and post…

Oh my gosh! Have you ever had an entire month that is utter pure chaos? That has been mind. Everything and anything that can go wrong, has. I might now have told you, but I’m a Libra. For those of you into that kind of stuff, it means I am the most indecisive person ever if I cannot decide on something immediately. It also makes me be a complete brat when I don’t get my way if someone makes the decision for me. Let’s all give a moment of silence for the dear man who has to put up with me all the time! How does that affect this? I couldn’t pick fabric for the life of me. I had a color palette I wanted to stick with because I wanted this to be stuff I would wear all the time. Nothing, I mean nothing, was coming around for me. And once I did, oh good lord… everything was taking forever or my muslin was bad. Bascially, it was just my bad juju. In fact, I have 2 more items that I have to make another post to show because I am still waiting on the fabric almost 3 weeks later. I know, awesomesauce. Ugh! So it took me longer to collect my thoughts and take pictures without my derp face, messy kids, messy hair, face, etc… and now this is the best I could get. Seriously. 



Now the spiel, if you are not familiar with me, I am Melissa and this is my chaotic casa Rebel & Malice. I am a SAHM to 5 wild and crazy spawn of mine. Yes, they are wonderful, they are also little heathens. Oh, I love them so! The current tally is 2 boys ages 11 & 13, and 3 girls ages 4, 5, and 9. We are really hoping to stay this number. Too much craziness here! Seriously, who thought it was a good idea to make me a human incubator? My current life consists of spending the mornings with my youngest and trying to get my work/sewing/blogging done. Then, everyday I walk 4.5 miles round trip to take her back and forth to preschool. 3 more days of the week I walk my an additional 3 miles to walk my rugrats home from their cross country practice, or volleyball, basketball, soccer, track, etc. My kids like to do all the school sports. So I am constantly o the go in the hot desert sun walking around 30ish miles a week (hopefully that changes to a bike soon) This means I need comfort items for daily wear and some choice pieces that are still easy to wear while walking for school events. I hate living in workout gear though, so I want these to look like clothes. Tough task, I tell you. 

The items I made were the Hudson Pants from True Bias, Basics Tank from Cali Faye, Willow Wrap Dress from Love Notions (and soon to come when this fabric comes in: Phresh Blazer from Winter Wear Designs and Archer from Grainline Studio) I also threw in 2 of my favorites: My Ginger Jeans from Closet Case Files and Laurelhurst Cardigan from Straight Stitch Designs

I love how it all came together and can’t wait to pull it together the way I imagined. 

You also get to see my real life parent face and my one and only furbaby Roxy. Of course we are a pitbull family ❤ 

Here are my Hudsons in the most deliciously comfortable jersey knit. Sigh. I need to do more tweaking because of my obnoxious butt shape, but they are heavenly. 
The Cali Faye tank has bust darts to fit me better, and I will either be tucking, belting or knotting. It’s too shapeless to work well for my body type. 

This was the initial plan: Phresh Blazer with tank and joggers. Since i didn’t make it yet, I threw on my favorite cropped blazer (store bought) and love how it makes it a little less casual.

This is my favorite. I used the Willow Wrap Dress, and lengthened the bodice, then made it the wrap style. That fabric perfectly suits me. It is ITY so it will never wrinkle and feels glorious. I layered it over my Cali Faye tank and paired with my Ginger jeans. Hello waist!!
And here are my outtakes with the spawn and my Roxy. 
Seriously?!?! No words! But this is my life perfectly. 
She wanted some love and attention in the middle of my timer. and that kissy face is me trying to get her to listen. It clearly worked just as well as it does on my kids. 
I love that these were basic pieces that can be pulled together and paired in different ways. I feel comfortable, but fashionable still. 




Momiform MAKEover
REMEMBER: Scroll to the bottom of this post to enter the two separate Rafflecopters! 50+ winners will be selected! Get 10% off your fabric order from now through October 1 at Michael Levine/LowPriceFabric.com with code: Makeover10
Get 20% off your pattern order now through October 1 at UpCraft Club with code: MOMIFORMAre you MAKE-ing over your Momiform? Join the fun on Instagram with hashtag#momiformmakeover


Be sure to check out all the awesome series participants to get lots of momiform inspiration!


Sponsors

momiform major sponsors
Special thanks to these major sponsors who generously donated the following items for the giveaway:
(There will a different winner for each line item so we can spread the love around!)
Janome – One Skyline S5 Sewing MachineIndiesew – Four $50 gift certificates (four separate winners) Michael Levine / Low Price Fabric – Four $25 gift certificates (four separate winners) and 10% discount for readers through October 1 – code: Makeover10 UpCraft Club – Two $25 gift certificates (two separate winners) and 20% discount on patterns through October 1 – code:MOMIFORM
And the following pattern designers who graciously provided patterns for the series participants and/or contributed the following items for the giveaway:
Grainline Studio – Two patterns of your choice True Bias – Hudson Pants & Southport Dress patterns Colette -Two patterns of your choice Closet Case Files -Two patterns of your choiceSew Much Ado -Two patterns of your choice Sew Straight & Gather – Three patterns of your choice Golden Rippy – Two patterns of your choice 110 Creations: A Sewist’s Notebook Patterns for Pirates – Two patterns of your choice Itch to Stitch – Two patterns of your choice Mouse House Creations – Two patterns of your choice Hey June Handmade -Two patterns of your choicePeekaboo Pattern Shop – Three patterns of your choice Go-to Patterns – One women’s pattern of your choice GreenStyleCreations -Two patterns of your choice Puperita – One pattern of your choice Sofilantjes – Two patterns of your choice Charlotte Kan – One pattern of your choice So Sew Easy – Two patterns or one bundle of your choice OUSM Designs – Women’s Thumbs-Up Tee pattern E-Beth Designs – Two patterns of your choice Muffin Head Patterns – Any pattern of your choice up to $10 GrayDay Patterns – Sandpoint Top or Athena Top pattern (your choice) Scientific Seamstress – One pattern of your choice Stitch Upon a Time – $20 gift card 5 out of 4 – Two patterns of your choice Frianki Patterns – Two patterns of your choice KZ Jo Studio – Two patterns of your choice Straight Stitch Designs – Full collection of patterns Sewing Patterns by Aivilo Charlotte – Two patterns of your choice Striped Swallow Designs – Two patterns of your choice Rose and Lee Designs – Two patterns of your choice Sewing Geek Patterns – One pattern of your choice Filles a Maman – One pattern of your choice Bella Sunshine Designs – One pattern of your choice Liola Designs – One pattern of your choice Cali Faye Collection – One pattern of your choice Tinman Patterns – Orbit Skirt pattern Felicity Sewing Patterns – Two patterns of your choice Winter Wear Designs – Two patterns of your choice Ellie Inspired – Three patterns of your choice Love Notions – One pattern of your choice a Sparkly Baby – Two patterns of your choiceTerra’s Treasures Designs – Two patterns of your choice

*Janome giveaway winner must be located in U.S.A. and is therefore on a separate Rafflecopter below. Machine must be picked up at a local dealer; it cannot be shipped.
This second Rafflecopter includes all the other sponsor items since they can be awarded internationally! You must enter both Rafflecopters in order to be entered to win both the sewing machine and the rest of the giveaway items. All patterns awarded will be in PDF format. Enjoy!
Thanks for stopping by!
Stay Rebellious!
Leave a Reply

